Progress for the Deaf

25 08 2008

For those who don’t know, my wife is deaf. And much of what we take for granted online is a challenge for her, simply due to the lack of captions on video content. Movie Trailers have never been an enjoyable or exciting experience for her and YouTube, Break.com or any other viral video site has never been somewhere she wants to spend any time.  She recently forwarded me a link to http://tubecaption.com/  and now she can truly get the joy of watching the trailer for Twilight without having to ask “What?” and too really get excited to see the red banner trailer for Tropic Thunder. Not to mention the abundant music videos the site offers.  Though the sight is still small and has only limited content so far it’s a start in the right direction. One of the best features is the option to submit content to be captioned.

 

However, for all the Whedonites out there the Dr Horrible Sing along blog at http://www.drhorrible.com/ is already captioned.  It’s like he just knew.

 

My wife had also forwarded me this awesome blog http://www.stuffdeafpeoplelike.com/ and although it explains why my wife fondles the car door handle. I don’t have an explanation for why I do.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 08 2008
Evil Wife

What I find funny about having a hearing spouse is that eventually they start acting deaf. For example you now won’t watch movies without captioning on them, I figure the car handles are just another symptom of deaf transference.

I think it is possible that Joss Weadon has a deaf family member or friend because he has never NOT captioned his work.

26 08 2008
Beaucifer

I love you honey, but you ended that comment with a double negative.

Yes, I have adapted to the captions to the point of almost needing then instinctually. I ‘ll even avoid getting movies that aren’t captioned.

Leave a Reply

